Legislative instrument details: EEA Agreement

Legal name Agreement on the European Economic Area
Short name EEA Agreement
CELEX reference 21994A0103(01) (31994D0001)
Identification number
Issued by European Free Trade Agreement Secretariat
URL to issuer http://secretariat.efta.int
Parent legislative instrument
Valid from
Abstract The European Economic Area (EEA) unites from the 1 May 2004 the 25 EU Member States and the three EEA EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) into an Internal Market governed by the same basic rules.

The objective of the EEA Agreement, as laid down in Article 1, is to promote a continuous and balanced strengthening of trade and economic relations between the Contracting Parties with the view to creating a homogenous European Economic Area.

In order to ensure the well functioning of the internal market, the EEA Agreement includes horizontal provisions relevant to the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital. These horizontal provisions provide a legal basis for the incorporation into the EEA Agreement of Community legislation in the following five areas: Social policy (including health and safety at work, labour law and equal treatment of men and women), Consumer protection, Environment, Statistics and Company law.
Reporting framework
Reporting obligations
Geographic scope Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway